Illegal Play?

In Monday night’s game, Detroit Lions start wide receiver Calvin Johnson was fighting for extra yardage to score a go-ahead touchdown late in the fourth quarter. Kam Chancellor punched the ball out of Johnson’s hands sending the ball flying into the end zone. Sounds like a legal play right? Here is the problem K.J. Wright gave the ball a little tap to send the ball over the line resulting in a touchback and the Seahawks with the ball.

Wright should have been called for an illegal bat for hitting the all out of the end zone. The penalty would have given the ball back to the Lions at the 1-yard-line maybe resulting in another outcome to the game.

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 11.46.47 AM

Wright said he did not know the rule and was purposely guiding the ball over the end line.

Do you think the play should have gone to a replay?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: